Simons Fellow Lindsey Powell wins the 2016 Infinite Kilometer Award

Photo: Maia Weinstock/MIT

Photo: Maia Weinstock/MIT

School of Science honors research staff with 2016 Infinite Kilometer Awards

[Source: School of Science | January 4, 2016]

The MIT School of Science has announced the 2016 winners of the Infinite Kilometer Award. The Infinite Kilometer Award was established in 2012 to highlight and reward the extraordinary, but often under-recognized work of the school’s research staff and postdocs.

Recipients of these awards are exceptional contributors to their research programs. In many cases, they are also deeply committed to their local or global MIT community, and are frequently involved in mentoring and advising their junior colleagues, participating in the school’s educational programs, making contributions to the MIT Postdoctoral Association, or contributing to some other facet of the MIT community.

In addition to an award of $1,000, honorees and their colleagues, friends, and family will be invited to an award lunch this spring.

The 2016 Infinite Kilometer winners are:

Ivan Amos Cali, research scientist, Laboratory for Nuclear Science;

Michael Campbell, postdoc, Department of Chemistry;

Ross Corliss, postdoc, Laboratory for Nuclear Science;

Takashi Kitamura, research scientist, Picower Institute for Learning and Memory;

Michael Leyton, visiting scientist/research affiliate, Laboratory for Nuclear Science;

Ram Madabhushi, research scientist, Picower Institute for Learning and Memory;

Efrén Navarro-Moratalla, postdoc, Materials Processing Center;

Madeleine Oudin, postdoc, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research;

Michele Pignatelli di Spinazzola, postdoc, Picower Institute for Learning and Memory;

Lindsey Powell, postdoc, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences;

Sai Ravela, principal research scientist, Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences;

Zach Berta-Thompson, postdoc, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research;

Wenjing Wang, postdoc, Department of Chemistry; and

Feng-Ju Weng, research scientist, McGovern Institute for Brain Research.

Original Article